Peanut Cookies

Since making the peanut butter & jelly bars, I have quite a few honey roasted peanuts left. This is not something I will eat straight out of the can, but I need to do something with them and came across this idea while looking for something else peanut butter to make. I seem to be on a peanut butter trip of late, but everything I’ve made recently has gone over well with my test kitchen (read: guinea pigs who I like making happy).D&D_1990

8 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup honey roasted peanuts
2 ozs semi-sweet chocolate, melted and cooled (optional)
little bit of Maldon salt on top, because …. it is amazing

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour and baking powder

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter, sugars until mixture is lighter. Add egg and vanilla and mix well. Add the dry ingredients and blend to incorporate.
Mix in peanuts.

Using a cookie scoop (#), scoop batter two inches apart on baking sheet. Bake about 10 minutes or until the cookies are light brown. Cool on the sheet for 2 minutes, then move to wire rack to cool completely.

Drizzle with melted chocolate. Yep, did not do this. But they were still really good.

Source: Epicurious

This was a really interesting idea and I liked it quite a bit. Will I make them again, sigh, not sure. I guess if I have more honey roasted peanuts, yes, but otherwise, I don’t think I will go out of my way for it. Not bad, but not good enough to be in the major rotation of cookies. Lord know there are so many other cookies to try and make – especially if they are lemon cookies – my favorite.

Leave a Reply

