Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars

This is totally not something I would think I would ever make. I guess it is because I like peanut butter, but I don’t really like peanut desserts. Strange, I know, but there it is. Which is interesting since I’ve recently made two peanut butter desserts and have plans to include a peanut cookie to the mix as well. They are not quite pretty, but sometimes that does not matter. D&D_1966

To be honest I was not sure how this was going to work, but I am pleased in the grand scheme of things. And I knew The Boy would like them no matter what. In small bits they are really good. But that is my thing – I bake things and then just try one or a small bit. And then I am done. Just have to sample and then I am over it to see if it works out. This totally worked out.

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup smooth peanut butter
3/4 cup light brown sugar
8 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature
1 large egg, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup grape jam or jelly – or any other flavor
2/3 cup coarsely chopped honey roasted peanuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 8×8 inch metal baking pan with heavy duty foil leaving an overhang. Press foil firmly into corners and up sides of the pan. Spray with non-stick spray.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt over a piece of waxed paper. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix together peanut butter, sugar and butter until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and mix to combine. Add dry ingredients and beat until just mixed. Transfer half of the dough (c. 1 1/2 cups) to pan and press into bottom on an even layer. Place remaining dough in freezer for 10 minutes. Top bottom layer with jelly layer, spreading evenly as possible. Remove dough from freezer and break into small (grape-sized) pieces and scatter over jelly layer. Sprinkle nuts on top.

Bake until top is golden brown, about 30 minutes. Cool completely in rack. Using overhanging foil, lift bars from pan and peel foil from edges. Cut into 16 squares. Store airtight at room temperature for up to 3 days.

These are just stupidly good. And the test kitchen liked them  – a lot.

source: Epicurious

Leave a Reply

