Chocolate Fudge Chip Cookies

I am, as I mention on a regular basis, not a huge chocolate person, but this looked like something everyone I know would like, so I decided to go for it. It falls in line with my “brownie” cookie phase that I have been working on for the last 6 months or so. While not a “brownie” cookie itself, the flavors will be similar and best of all, I have everything on hand to make it. My favorite kind of recipe. It helps that my freezer is mostly stocked with unsalted butter and chips of all flavors. Freezers are wonderful things … especially when you are cheap like me and buy things on sale that you will use later. Chocolate is not cheap, so I try to make sure to get the very good stuff on sale and then store it properly. Butter, another thing that is not cheap, is the same for me. I don’t really know what I would do if I ran out – to be honest, I can’t remember that ever happening. Guess that’s how you know you are a baker. I really like being a baker.D&D_1926

This is another Trisha Yearwood recipe, but I think I would try it no matter whose original idea it was. I’m pretty sure the Boy will be all over it. Hopefully all the choco-holics at the office will enjoy them as well.

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
6 ozs  semi-sweet chocolate chips
4 ozs white chocolate bar, chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Sift together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt over a piece of waxed paper.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix together butter and both sugars until combined. Add eggs, one at a time and incorporate. Add flour mixture and just combine – do not over mix. By hand, mix in the walnuts and both chocolates until just combined.

Drop a 20 scoop of dough on baking sheet. Bake, turning the pan half way through, until cookies are set, about 12 minutes. And do it again and again until your are done. Yep.

Source: Trisha Yearwood
12 June 2017

Notes: Mixed up and baked up really easy. I let the dough sit in the fridge overnight so all I had to do was bake when I got home from work. I like to do this – mix one night – bake the next. Or alternatively, get dry ingredients together one day and then finish and bake the next day – especially for cakes. I learned this from my mom because she used to mix all the dry ingredients for banana nut bread that she made by the dozens for Christmas presents.

 

Leave a Reply

