Blueberry Muffins

I am not a usual fan of self-rising flour. I mean you can make self-rising flour out of all-purpose flour is you want to – not too difficult. But I went ahead and made the “investment” for this recipe. I always keep frozen organic blue berries in the freezer and thought this just might work really well. We will see how I modify this recipe – in my head some lemon zest should be involved, but since is the first time I have made this recipe, I will be true to it.  Or try to. And then at some point in the future, maybe, modify it.

D&D_18702 3/4 cups King Arthur unbleached self-rising flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 to 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
Sanding sugar

Preheat oven to 400°F. Prepare the muffin pan by lining them with papers, then spraying the papers with non-stick baking spray; this helps release the muffins from the papers. Whisk together the flour and sugar over a piece of waxed paper.

In a bowl, whisk together the milk, oil, eggs, and vanilla. Add to the dry ingredients, stirring until the flour is moistened; it will be a bit lumpy. Quickly and gently stir in the blueberries. Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full; sprinkle muffins with sanding sugar.

Bake the muffins for 20 to 25 minutes, or until they’re golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove the muffins from the oven, and allow them to cool for 3 to 5 minutes in the pan. Remove them from the pan and serve warm or at room temperature. Wrap airtight and store at room temperature for several days; freeze for longer storage.

29 May 2017 – These were easy to make, but somehow they were on the dry side. Need to investigate because I like a recipe where I have everything on hand, but I wonder what I need to do for a more moist muffin.

Source: King Arthur Flour

I really need to read reviews before I make a recipe – lots of people substituted melted butter for the oil. I will certainly do that next time. I will say though, the berries, at least did not all sink to the bottom and that was a blessing.

The Boy really liked these and that is enough for me.

 

Leave a Reply

