Almost Cowboy Cookies

Yet again another cookie that I never had a child (see: Snickerdoodles). I knew these were sold at the Publix when I was a kid, but we never bought any of them. I think, to me, they were a bit of a mash-up cookie – too many things involved. They are a little bit chocolate chip cookie, a little bit oatmeal pecan cookie and then you add coconut into the mix. Strikes me as strange – but I understand a lot of people really like them. I am so not digging the coconut, so we will try without it this time. I guess that means I need to call them something other than Cowboy Cookies, but I’m not sure what – well, Almost Cowboy Cookies seems to work.dd_1770

I guess the thing that sets me off is I really (no, REALLY!) do not like chocolate with oatmeal. There is nothing worse that thinking you have got a straight up old-fashioned oatmeal raisin cookie and find out – the hard way – Ugh – that it is oatmeal and chocolate chips. Every feeling revolts.

But I guess if going into this you know what you are dealing with it will decrease the amount of shock when you taste the cookie. And apparently, lots of people like this kind of cookie – if they did not the Publix would not sell them. That is a fact.

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp kosher salt
6 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
6 Tbs sugar
6 Tbs brown sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup chopped pecans (Renfroes)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter until smooth and then add sugars and beat until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and beat until smooth. Add flour mixture and beat to just incorporate. Stir in oats, chocolate, and pecans. Form dough into 24 balls and bake 12 at a time for 16 – 18 minutes rotating the baking pan half way through. Cool on baking sheet for a minute and the cool on a wire rack. Let baking pan cool and do the whole thing over again.

Makes 24 cookies (that should really be obvious).

Source: modified from Saveur

16 Sept 12 – v.g.

7 January 17 –  indeed, v.g.

2015 Mushroom Pate

One thought on “Almost Cowboy Cookies

  1. Raisins are an abomination unto The Lord so you are completely wrong about oatmeal chocolate chip. Since I have been looking for Publix cowboy cookies, you are forgiven.

    Like

Leave a Reply

