Old-Fashioned Pecan Pie – America’s Test Kitchen 

America’s Test Kitchen made the comment referring to this as pecan pie in their notes, “often called Karo pie in the south.”  Nope. No one calls it karo pie in the South.  No one. Ever. Guess that’s what people in New England think, but they could not be more wrong. Though, I do admit, this is an amazing pecan pie recipe – for all their yankee-ness – the maple syrup makes it. Indeed. And no need for corn syrup. dd_1664

I have been making this version of pecan pie for several years now and it really is pretty stupidly amazing. I have a soft spot for pecan pie. When I was a kid, you could have your favorite dinner and cake for your birthday. Well, my favorite cake, was pecan pie. That was what I wanted and that was what I got – along with tacos – my favorite meal at the time. Lord, what a small child can do with food, but damn skippy, it made me happy. Really really happy. Even typing that I have dumb grin on my face right now. Life can sometimes just be simple. And really good.

1 cup maple syrup, grade A or B, I prefer B, it is a bit richer
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 Tbs molasses
4 Tbs unsalted butter, cold and cubed
1/2 tsp salt
6 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cup chopped pecans, lightly toasted – Renfroes
1 – 9 inch unbaked pie shell, chilled in the pie plate for 30 minutes (see: No Roll Butter Pie Crust – I am trying it this year.)

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 450 degrees.

In a sauce pan, heat syrup, brown sugar, cream, and molasses oven medium heat and stir until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes. Whisk in butter and salt and then whisk in egg yolks until incorporated.

Take pie pan out of the fridge and put the pecans in the pie shell. Pour in the filling and place in oven, but immediately reduce heat to 325 degrees. Bake until filling is set and center is slightly jiggly, somewhere between 45 and 60 minutes. Cool pie on a cooling rack for at least and hour and then set in the fridge for at least 3 hours more, but a day would be better. Bring to room temperature before slicing and serving.

Yes, for all my snark about Yankees, this is an amazing pecan pie. Sometimes you just have to try something new and then you love it and it becomes a new tradition.

The Boy always wants this for Thanksgiving and I understand why. It is the real deal.

 

 


Leave a Reply

