Cornbread Dressing

I think I have finally found the closest recipe to my mom’s dressing. Either way, I am pleased beyond words on this Thanksgiving night. I have my mom’s recipe via phone from a few years ago, but I really do not have the recipe – just bits and pieces. Things you just listen to and sort of write down. But not really.

This is a recurring theme for me. I know, there are just so many questions that I have unanswered. It is frustrating – very. Well, at least this year I feel I have made progress and that is something.

So here is the 2016 version of dressing. And it was really amazing. There were no left overs after of a couple of days – that should tell you something.dd_1661

1 Tbs olive oil
2 smallish yellow onion, chopped*
5 ribs of celery, peeled**, chopped
10 cups broken up cornbread^
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1/2 tsp dried thyme
2 cups chicken broth, or more as needed
3 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 250 degrees and toast cornbread for an hour rotating half way through. Increase oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

In a 12 inch skillet, saute onions and celery until soft, but do not let them brown. Add some water now and then, like my mom did, to steam the vegetables. These smells are Thanksgiving to me and that is what you need to wake up to on Thanksgiving day.

In a really big bowl, mix together vegetables, cornbread, rosemary, thyme, 2 cups of broth and 2 Tbs melted butter. Season with salt and pepper. Important fact – taste this now and adjust seasonings. Then add eggs. My mom’s paranoid ideas about raw eggs.

Spoon into prepared dish. Top with the last Tbs of butter. Bake until lightly browned, about 40 minutes or so.

Source: Modified lots from Taste of the South

* Baseball-sized yellow onion, I hate when a recipe does not give a size. It is annoying.

** Peeled, we, and by that I mean you, do not want strings on you celery. No you do not. At all.

^ bake 2 9″ x 9″ pans of simple plain cornbread – Jiffy mix will work in a pinch. A pinch which I have been in a Thanksgiving or two. But it totally works. It seems like a sell-0ut. Once again, I over think things. Yep

Leave a Reply

