“Keebler’s” Pecan Sandies

dd_1625I totally have a soft spot for pecan sandies – always have had. Over a decade ago I started making them from scratch and have never looked back. I have several recipes I like but so far my first one has been my favorite one.

This is a new recipe to try and displace my current leader.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup chopped pecans
Sugar for rolling

Sift together over waxed paper, flour, baking soda, cream of tartar,salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter, canola oil, sugar, and confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Beat the egg in, then stir in vanilla.

Mix the flour mixture in the butter mixture. Mix in pecans. Chill for at least 20 minutes or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and roll into sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheet.

Bake 10 – 12 minutes or until edges are golden. Do not over bake. Cool on wire rack. Makes about 3 dozen.

~~ Now, can I compare this to the Keebler’s version of pecan sandies, probably not. That would involve buying cookies, and I just cannot rationalize doing that when there are so many more recipes to try. That said, these were good, but I still prefer my old reliable. Everyone else liked them though, so that is a good thing.

Source: http://buttercreambarbie.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

