Lemon Crisps

I do not even have an excuse to make another lemon cookie. Nope, none at all. So there it is.  I am doing it again. These were really good. This is a new-to-me recipe and I just could not help myself. Indeed. Sometimes I just make cookies for me and eat, like 2, and then share them. It may not make much sense, but baking, and cooking, is just experimental for me. Once I’ve tried the result, I can make a decision about what to change and adjust. Or whether to abandon the whole idea – done that several times. But not this time. dd_1608

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1 1/2 Tbs lemon juice
1 1/2 Tbs lemon zest
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Cream together butter and sugar and then add egg, juice, zest, and vanilla. Sift in dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Drop by 1 1/2 tsp onto parchment lined baking sheet and bake 10 – 12 minutes until lightly golden brown around the edges.

Let cool on sheet one minute before moving to cooling rack.

Makes about 2 dozen.

Lemon Glaze
4 Tbs lemon juice
1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Beat together and drizzle over cooled cookies.

Source: http://whisk-kid.com/2009/08/inner-child-lemon-cookies.html

Leave a Reply

