Strong Street Studio – Blown-Glass Pumpkins

The first weekend in October is one of my favorite little splurges that I have had each year for about five years now. Pumpkin shopping at Strong Street Studio.

dd_1577

2016 Pumpkins from Strong Street Studio

I am not a shopper. I hate shopping for clothes, for which the MotH should be eternally grateful. Indeed. For clothes shopping, I have to take him with me because he is better at picking out things for me. I can shop for shoes, but only when necessary and, pretty much, only on some sort of sale. Do love bags, but again must be on sale. I think it was because my mom was not a shopper either. Shopping is a chore for me and not a pastime. I think I may be a strange woman. A rare breed indeed – at least in my mind.

That said, I wait every year for this sale. I’ve been buying Scott’s pumpkins since he was selling them in a tent outside of Jaco’s. Usually one or two – they are not inexpensive and understandably so.

I  have had a weekend of glass blowing classes thanks to the MotH for my birthday when we first moved here, and it is bloody hard work. I understand so much better what is involved since I have tried to do it myself. I need to post pictures of what I have made – they are not awe inspiring, but the did require upper arm strength – that is a HUGE part of blowing glass. Upper arm strength is not one of my strong attributes.

A couple of years back we had a devastating flood in the area and it destroyed Scott’s equipment and studio. He did a Kickstarter that I joined, the benefit was a blood orange pumpkin never to be repeated and it is my only orange pumpkin, and will probably be the only one ever. An orange pumpkin is kind of pedestrian. But blood orange with that hint of red – nice. But everything else, well I am a bit whimsical about my pumpkins.

dd_0427

Blood Orange Pumpkin

I am always looking for something different and have been happy to find just the right amount of odd* in the pumpkin sale – see that white one from this year – no idea what inspired it or me to purchase it, but it is so lovely in the light.  I do keep my pumpkins out year round, but move them around and make it different all the time. Fall is my favorite season even though we really don’t have much of a real fall. So again I just push the issue and try to will our fall into being.

Otherwise, pumpkins at Christmas, why the hell not? Yes, I do that.

My favorite odd pumpkins* –

dd_img_0771-edit

Green and Lilac pumpkin – could not help myself.

dd_img_0850-edit

I think this my favorite – it looks like an evil pumpkin and I love it.

Leave a Reply

