Brownie Cakes or something like that…

I am not a chocolate person, but this is one of those recipes that I love to make. I have everything on hand – do love this kind of recipe – no grocery store – woo hoo. Also I do like to make the people in my life who like chocolate-things happy. I did try one of these muffins (if you can call them that) and it totally has a great brownie thing going on. I really made these for the Boy and I think he liked it, at least I hope so. I shared a few at our beach local now that we can get out there again – Shaggy’s.

It is kind of funny. I am not much of a sweet person. I guess that is not entirely true. I will try a new recipe, once, and then I am done. Now the MotH is not into sweets at all, but he will try something if I press on him a bit. I do want his opinion – it is important to me. So my “test subjects” are my office, the Boy, and Shaggy’s. I really think they mostly do not mind too much. At least it seems that way to me.  Although I do seem to get blamed for people gaining weight, but ……

D&D_1550

1 cup unsalted butter, 16 Tbs.
1 cup chocolate chips, Ghiradelli is my favorite and my go to.
4 large eggs, slightly beaten
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Melt the butter and chocolate chips over a low heat on the stove. I do not think this is a place for the microwave. Nope not at all.

Line your cupcake pan with paper liners. This makes 18 cupcakes which to my mind is really kind of annoying. I have a 12 cupcake pan – then had to wait till the pan cooled down to do the last six. Fine – I can do it, but I just do not want to. Guess I am just being fussy – but really?

D&D_1554

Beat eggs and sugar together. Sift flour over the egg mixture and add vanilla (I am very liberal with the vanilla – just saying). Fold in the chocolate – butter mixture and there we are – ready to make brownie cakes. Fill cupcake pan wells about 1/2 full.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean. Just like a brownie will do.

This reminds me of the brownie cookies. They are like small brownies with lots of crusty edges, which to my mind are the best part of a brownie. I am a brownie edge person, not a brownie middle person. Guess it is a personal preference, but I do like a little bit of crunch.

Source: All Recipes and love that this is a Grandma recipe. Old recipes are my favorite kind.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brownie Cakes or something like that…

  1. Pingback: My sad baking/cooking summer | Deft and Daft

  2. Pingback: July – August 2016 – butter & eggs usage | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

