Shortbread with chocolate chips and toffee bits

I am a huge fan of shortbread. I mean, come on, it is basically a butter cookie and then you are going to add chocolate, but even better (!) – toffee chips. Yes – I did just say that – toffee chips. Damn skippy. I think next time it will just be toffee chips. That sounds like a breakfast cookie to me. Lots of things sound like breakfast cookies to me though, so I probably should not be trusted at this point. D&D_1448

1 cup unsalted  butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted – must be sifted
1 teaspoon  vanilla
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips – or however much you want – just saying
3/4 cup English toffee bits, such as Heath (the ones without chocolate)

Preheat the oven to 350°.
Sift together the flour and salt on a piece of waxed paper. Cream the butter and powdered sugar together until smooth. Add the vanilla, and then add the flour mixture. By hand, mix in the chocolate chips and toffee bits.
With a cookie scoop, drop cookies onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
Bake until the edges are just starting to brown, about 12 to 15 minutes, turning the baking sheet half way through – it is just a thing I do. Cool on a wire rack and store in an airtight container, like one does with all cookies.
Many thanks to Farmgirl Fare for the excellent recipe. I do love the banners for that site and then there are pictures of donkeys. I always though I would have a few donkeys, but I just do not think it will work out now. That said, I think I could pull off having a mini donkey and say it was a German Shepherd Dog. Totally  – could pull that off.

One thought on “Shortbread with chocolate chips and toffee bits

  1. Pingback: Butter Usage – by month – May 2016 | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

