Yukon Gold Potato Salad

Potato salad is really illusive. It really should not be so difficult. It is just potato salad, but it can be good or bad. And most of the time it is not good, just sort of meh.

I have a few pointers from one of my best friends. While the potatoes are still hot, just dump that pickle juice on them – they totally absorb it. That does make a really good potato salad – it does.D&D_1431

2 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, cleaned, peeled or not, and cubed
4 stalks celery, peeled (yes, peeled),  finely diced
4 scallions, finely diced
4 Tbs sweet relish, squeezed of most liquid
2 Tbs Dijon mustard
3 hard boiled eggs, chopped
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup Italian parsley, finely minced
6 Tbs Duke’s mayonnaise – it really must be Duke’s

Set a pot of water to boil and salt it heavily – like the ocean. Add those Yukon Gold potatoes and boil until the potatoes are tender – which in my head means you can pierce them with a paring knife. Meanwhile, peel that celery (not kidding – a serrated peeler works the best), and then mince it. Mince the scallions too. Add to that the squeezed out sweet relish (my favorite kind) and you can add the relish juice to the cooked potatoes because that is pretty much amazing. Guess I should have said that earlier while the potatoes were warm but I think I did. Now let everything cool a bit.

So after waiting, we do the following: Add those hard boiled eggs, and the parsley. Combine the Dijon, lemon juice and Duke’s and mixed until combined. Add to the potatoes, but don’t go crazy.  You don’t want to break up the potatoes too much.

I made this for Easter this year, along with Baked Beans. But this was one of those just wing-it-kind-of-recipes. And that is what I did. Looked at lots of recipes, bought 5 pounds of Yukon Golds and went for it. It seemed to be a hit for Easter, but I am also thinking about it again for this summer – you know, picnic time.

I never have been on a picnic and that seems a damn shame  – will remedy that, at least I hope I will.

 

Leave a Reply

