Another Card Company Created Thing

I cannot stand created holidays. By this, I mean the following: Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Administrative Assistant’s Day, National Bosses’ Day, etc. etc. blah blah blah. Groan.

Mother’s Day in particular is annoying because it falls so very close to my own birthday. To be honest, lots of women have babies, it is not exactly difficult. Yes, I am that person. But a made up holiday for Mother’s Day just has never worked for me.

I have just deleted this post again and again, but it keeps coming back up. I find these “holidays” offensive along with all the other made up ones. I am very aware that this post will not engender any goodwill whatsoever. But there it is.

My mother always got offended when I talked about the made up holiday. Really offended. But I sent the stupid card and told the Boy to never get one for me. He texted this year, “Happy Hallmark Holiday” which was just the best. Sometimes he is WAY TOO MUCH like me. Sorry Boy, no, not really.

Now in anticipation for “Fathers’s Day” I am not sure what to do.

I wrote this before the Dad died. Yep – that is a bit of a mess. But not really – he was not a fan of created holidays either.

Leave a Reply

