Brown Sugar White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

D&D_1386

I do love my white china.

The Boy has always loved white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. But this time copious amounts of brown sugar will be involved – and no white sugar.  But I think that’s my favorite part of cookies is the brown sugar. It gives a bit of depth to a cookie.  I love a toll-house chocolate chip cookie, but to be honest, if I made it without the semi-sweet chocolate chips, I would still love it just as much, just because of the brown sugar taste. I always use light brown sugar. It is just a thing for me. You can always add a little molasses to it if you want to deepen the flavor.

I do think now I will be on the prowl for a brown sugar cookie. You know, something you roll and stamp out, but it might not be crisp like white sugar cookie. It might be a bit softer, but I’m sure it could really be tasty. That would really be nice, or amazing – yes, I am guessing amazing.

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
12 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups light brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup white chocolate chips (Ghirardelli, of course)
1 cup coarsely chopped macadamia nuts (mine were salted, I saw no other kind – salt is never a bad thing)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment – as usual.

Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and brown sugar until fluffy.  Mix in eggs, one at a time. Mix in vanilla. Slowly incorporate flour mixture. Stir in white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.

Using a cookie scoop+, space cookies on sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 12 minutes turning the pan half way through. The cookies should be set in the middle and gold on the edges.* Cool a couple minutes on baking sheet and cool completely on a wire rack.

Source: Baking Bites

Notes: * The original recipe had a longer time, but this is what worked for me.

+ How does one know the size of a cookie scoop? I have no idea, but this random tool seems to work out well for me. I’m guessing (totally guessing!) that is a smidge over a tablespoon, but to be honest, I am so not sure about that.

One thought on “Brown Sugar White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

  1. Pingback: Butter usage – by month – April 2016 | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

