Salted Crispy Oatmeal Butterscotch Pecan Cookies

I just could not help myself with this recipe. Honestly – how could I?  This, I think, is the longest title of a cookie ever – at least in my world. And there is nothing wrong with that.D&D_1352.jpg

Oatmeal means it is a “breakfast” cookie, especially when pecans (or any nut) are involved. And who knew from rice crispies? And butterscotch chips – they are always in my freezer, because you never know when they will be needed, right?  You need to be prepared – this is serious stuff, here people. Who can be caught with no butterscotch chips? Well, maybe that is just me. Okay, just me. I know.

The combination of all these relatively random things is pretty amazing.  Then again I only try one cookie in any recipe. I mean, once you have had one cookie, or maybe even some raw cookie dough (a favorite trick of mine because I really need an excuse to eat raw cookie dough), you know how the recipe works out. But not this time. Full stop. I had to have a couple of cookies because I could not stop myself, and honestly, that is very rare. Really rare. The MotH will vouch for that. Also, the office said that these were pretty frigging amazing. Which is praise indeed.  They don’t quite know that they are my recipe testers. I hope they don’t mind, because I want an honest opinion.

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
8 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup quick oatmeal
1 cup rice crispies
1 cup butterscotch chips
1 cup chopped pecans – Renfroes, of course
Maldon Salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheet with parchment paper. Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Blend in egg and vanilla. Add flour mixture a little at a time until completely mixed in. Stir in oatmeal, rice cereal, butterscotch chips, and pecans. Using a cookie scoop, arrange dough on baking sheet with a couple inches in between. Sprinkle dough balls with Maldon salt. Bake 12 minutes, turning the pan half way thru baking time.

Cool on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Bench Notes: 3 dozen or so cookies, depending the size of your cookie scoop. I do need to figure out the size of my cookie scoop. My guess – a generous tablespoon. But I could be wrong.

This recipe seemed like such a mix of things that I really like, I made it almost as soon as I found the recipe. I even went to the store to stock up on oatmeal, which I usually have but I had made way too many variations of oatmeal cookies this fall, and buy rice cereal which I do not keep on hand, but whatever is left is going to be rice crispy treats – which I love in a stupid childish kind of way.

I’m never really sure about the sprinkled salt thing. For such a long time it seemed to be a fad that seemed silly. That is not to say I do not own any finishing salts because I do, a lot of them (and that is a completely different post), but in this recipe that salt and that crunch from the Maldon was just the thing. It was so very right.

I so want to make another batch of them right now. Yep. I do.

2 thoughts on “Salted Crispy Oatmeal Butterscotch Pecan Cookies

  1. Pingback: Egg Usage – by month – April 2016 | Deft and Daft

  2. Pingback: Butter usage – by month – April 2016 | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

