Savory Herb Muffins

So another thing that happens when I have buttermilk – I like to have herbs – Italian parsley, chives, basil, dill, etc.  Usually to make homemade ranch**, but in this case, I was really looking for something different. This totally fit the spring-herb bill and with a little home-made pesto and Parmesan to add in the mix. How could I not try this? I am happy to say the MotH really liked these, but the Irish butter sealed the deal. Did for me too. Maybe butter is like bacon. Probably.

D&D_1321

Savory Herb Muffin

1/2 cup Italian flat-leaf parsley, minced,  the only parsley I use
1/2 cup chives, minced
3 large eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup home-made pesto*
1/4 finely grated Parmesan cheese
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with liners. Rinse parsley, basil*, and chives and wrap in paper towels to dry completely. Mince parsley and chives. Set aside for now.

In a bowl, mix together eggs, salt, and pepper. Add in buttermilk, pesto*, and Parmesan. Over waxed paper, sift together flour and baking powder.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just incorporated. Do not over mix. It’s a muffin after all. Stir in the parsley and chives.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake for 25 minutes, rotating half way through until golden and toothpick comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: slightly modified from: chocolateandzucchini.com/recipes/appetizers/fresh-herb-muffins-recipe/  One of my favorite blogs – http://chocolateandzucchini.com/  Clotilde is just amazing. The first time I heard this name was when the Boy went to Episcopal Day School and Clotilde was a girl in his class that I envied because her mom had a great way with style. One that I do not have. Sigh.

* Pesto – my homemade recipe – a bunch of  basil, freshly washed, 2 decent sized cloves of garlic, a good half cup of walnuts (no  pine nuts for me), a good pinch of kosher salt, and enough olive oil to make it loose, but not too loose. – in your food processor. You have to judge how much olive oil by what recipe the pesto will be involved in.  In this case, I was looking for pesto to go in muffins, not as a pasta sauce. So not too much olive oil. A little bit of fresh lemon juice is always appreciated.

** Homemade ranch – just wing it. It is mayo, and some sour cream if you like it (I do), and any fresh herbs you like – Italian parsley, chives, dill or cilantro if those are things for you. You can do minced garlic, but honestly, garlic or onion powder works because no matter what this mess has to sit in the fridge for a few hours to make it work. There also needs to be fresh lemon juice – or lime (haven’t done it but expect it will be good). And then just enough buttermilk to make it consistency that you want. But, again, it needs to sit in the fridge to make the flavours come together.

Notes: Okay, I made this because it was spring and I liked the ideas of fresh herbs. And making pesto again. And had buttermilk (always full fat – yep). It also reminded me of how much I need to sort out growing my own herbs again instead of buying them. For lord’s sake I grow my own Meyer Lemons – I should totally grow my own herbs like I did in years past.

I do have to say that I’m not a huge fan of the green look of the muffins (did say – mold muffins – just could not help it). That said, they taste great, especially with some my favorite salted Irish butter (Kerrygold) on them. For butter that you are going to put on something (muffins, toast, etc.) Irish butter is always best. I guess they just have amazing cows or something.

Leave a Reply

