Raisin Walnut Oatmeal Cookies

Or should the title be Oatmeal, Raisin, Walnut Cookies? – not sure. This is an Ina Garten recipe – but I did modify it a bit. I do kind of love her, but I have never tried this recipe.  It has been one of those recipes that has been my cookie binder for donkey’s years and I figured, what the hell – I am a huge fan of oatmeal cookies (read: cookies you can eat for breakfast and not feel the least bit guilty about it). I really do not think I ever feel guilty about eating cookies for breakfast, but that’s just me. Yes, everyone should be so progressive or something. Whatever. These are really good.

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp kosher salt
16 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature (2 sticks)
1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed (light or dark – whatever – theme perhaps?)
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 raisins
1 1/2 walnuts, chopped (roughly or not – personal preference)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and both sugars until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, and then add the vanilla.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the butter/egg mixture, and mix to combine. Add the oats, raisins, and walnuts until just combined.

Using my cookie scoop*, I parsed these out about 2 inches apart and baked about 14 – 15 minutes. Although I did kind of smash them a bit after the first batch. That might be an issue if you leave the dough in the fridge over night which I tend to do but I did let it sit out at room temperature for a while (a couple of hours). Make dough one night, cookies the next night -it is a thing for me. But baking 15 minutes seemed to work pretty well.

Notes: I was a little disappointed that the tops of these cookies didn’t get kinda sorta brown on top, but in the taste department it so made up for that. They were crunchy even if the top wasn’t more than beige. Again, though, I like style points. I think cookies should look good (but that does not keep me from eating them again for a midnight snack).

*How does one determine the size of a cookie scoop? Please someone enlighten me. This one works, but I just kind of guess with it.

Made 43 cookies with the cookie scoop that has no determined size. Honestly. Do  have to figure this out. D&D_1254

 

 

Leave a Reply

