White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

So it is common knowledge that I like to bake for my friends and family. I also, kinda, use them as a) Guinea pigs, and b) ways to get me out of a baking rut or to try something different. I figure it is a fair exchange. You guys get cookies, or some such thing, and I get out of a cooking/baking rut. And hopefully some honest opinions. At least I hope so.D&D_1235

So a friend told me last weekend that she had a craving for white chocolate macadamia nut cookies and since I haven’t made them in donkey’s years I decided to go for it. Added bonus: The Boy loves these too – so it is a double win.

This recipe makes approximately 5 dozen – plenty to share with everyone. But let us just see how many it really is. Me being me, I do keep count of things like that.

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 tsp salt
11 oz bag white chocolate chips (Ghiradelli, of course)
1 1/2 cups macadamia nuts, chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment. Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, salt, and baking soda.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy. Add the vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing well. Blend in flour mixture. Stir in the white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto the  baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake until lightly golden on top, 10 to 12minutes. Cool on the sheet about 3 minutes, and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Source: Ghirardelli – the back of the white chocolate chip package – duh.

Okay – so this was 69 cookies – never a bad thing, in my opinion. But, dear lord, macadamia nuts are amazingly expensive. I had no idea  how much they had gone up. So my 12 ozs of salted macadamia nuts (Publix brand – which is a great brand by the way) was $10. O holy crap. Now I have to figure out what to do with the rest of them, besides make more white chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies. Must come up with something different. Otherwise that is a bit meh.

I do think that there was a Martha Stewart tart recipe that had macadamia nuts in them. It is the greatest Martha Stewart book ever, in my opinion, Martha Stewart Pies & Tarts. Although her Christmas book is right up there with it.

 

Leave a Reply

