Apple Carrot Muffins – Leap Day

Leap Day – 29 February 2016

D&D_1242

Carrot, Apple, Walnut Muffins

I don’t think there is any Leap Day food, I look at is an extra day to make something in the kitchen. Bake, cook, maybe trying something new.

Yes, I think try something new. But what?

So after the Boy and I made an excellent carrot cake from a recipe from my friend we had some extra grated carrots left and I remembered having recently seen this recipe and thought it looked good. Also nice that I had everything on hand. Bonus! Another breakfast food, at least in my opinion. Carrot, Apples, Walnuts – um, duh.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup canola oil
4 large eggs, room temperature, slightly beaten
1 1/2 cups grated carrots, about 3
1 1/2 cups grated Granny Smith Apple, about 2
1 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans if you can get good ones)

Frosting:
8 ozs cream cheese, softened
4 Tbs unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Find some spiffy cupcake liners (this is a new thing for me). Line cupcake pan with liners.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. In a measuring cup, mix together oil and eggs. Break the eggs up. Make a well and add oil and eggs, mix to combine. The add carrots, apples, and walnuts.

Spoon batter into liners, 3/4 full. Bake 20 – 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely.

Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla until smooth. Sift in confectioner’s sugar. Apply frosting to cooled cupcakes.

Source: adapted from a recipe at Simply Recipes.

I made these one night and thought I would frost them the next day but I tried one after they had cooled a bit and decided to skip the frosting. They are great with no frosting. Even MotH likes them and that is saying something. I guess if you frost them then you can call them cupcakes. But I’ll stick with the un-frosted muffin. Besides, that way I can eat them for breakfast and feel good about eating carrots, apples, and walnuts …. for breakfast!! Woo Hoo!

One thought on “Apple Carrot Muffins – Leap Day

  1. Pingback: January – March 2016 – Food “Holidays” Recap | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

