Oatmeal Pecan Toffee Cookies

D&D_1221

Oatmeal Toffee Pecan Cookies – only slightly amazing.

I am a huge fan of pretty much any kind of oatmeal cookie. You can call them breakfast cookies and I do. It makes me feel better about eating cookies for breakfast which I do on a regular basis. I guess that’s some form of justification for pretty much doing what the hell I want. This was a new recipe for me, but did modify it a bit – read: more nuts, more vanilla, and straight up toffee bits. What’s a girl to do – always have to make some adjustments. These cookies are slightly sticky, but that’s um, toffee. Yum. I think walnuts would work in place of pecans, but I really liked the pecans. Then again, I have a thing for walnuts with my oatmeal cookies.

You know, one thing I can’t deal with is an oatmeal raisin cookie with chocolate chips – that’s just too damn weird – ugh. Maybe because I always get fooled into thinking the chips are raisins and that’s just not a good thing. Kind of like eating a skittle that you think is an M&M. Blech

So here we go – I think this is a pretty amazing cookie and I got very positive feedback from my usual group of Guinea Pigs (not polite), test subjects (this isn’t science after all or maybe it is a bit), friends (yep – that works).

8 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups uncooked oats (old fashioned oats)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp heaping baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup chopped pecans
8 ozs Heath toffee bits

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Over a piece of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.

Beat butter in a stand mixer for 2 to 3 minutes until light and fluffy. Add brown sugar mix to combine. Add eggs, one at a time and then add vanilla and blend.

Mix in oats. Then add flour mixture in bits until just blended. Stir In pecans and toffee bits.

Bake for 12 minutes or thereabout. Turning the pan once half way through – that’s the OCD in me – because I have to do it.

Source: Southen Living – Modified by Me – for the better  in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

