Mardi Gras Sugar Cookies

D&D_1180These really are the simplest and best sugar cookies. The Boy and I made them for Christmas Eve (my favorite Christmas Holiday, perhaps my favorite holiday, period) but a few years ago I had so much to make at Christmas that I put these off until January and then it fell into Carnival season.* It worked on so many different levels.

So this year I finally decided to order Mardi Gras cookie cutters, because, well, it is a thing for me now. So I did it – I ordered special cookie cutters for this “holiday.” King Arthur Flour had the cutest set. There are two crowns, a mask, a music note, and the most important one, in my opinion is, a fleur de lis. Carnival season is a big thing here in the Gulf Coast.

* The season is Carnival, the last day is Mardi Gras – Fat Tuesday. Please do not confuse the two. After Mardi Gras comes Lent. I really think next year I need to do crepes for pancake Tuesday (Mardi Gras by a less interesting name) but I will probably make potato pancakes (latkes) because I just love to mix up religions and traditions. It’s me.

But for now it’s just really pretty sugar cookies. Purple, Gold, and Green.

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Over a sheet of waxed paper, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Sift in flour, a cup at a time. Blend until just mixed. Pour onto a surface and mix til it just comes together. Press into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate 3 – 4 hours or up to 3 days.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll out dough to about an 1/8 inch and cut with cookie cutters. Place on parchment lined baking sheet and sprinkle with colored sugar. Bake for 10 minutes, turning the pan half way through. Let rest on baking sheet for a minute and then remove to a rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

