Chocolate Chip Walnut Blondies

This is one of those recipes I’ve had in my cookie binder for donkey’s years. I was being lazy tonight. I wanted to bake but didn’t want to make a cake (too much thinking), or cookies (too much getting up and down – I said I was being lazy, right?), so the perfect compromise – bar cookies or blondies. D&D_1186

16 Tbs (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp fine salt
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
20 ozs semi-sweet chocolate chips, Ghiradelli is my favorite

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9 x 13 inch baking pan with baking spray.

Over a sheet of wax paper, sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and both sugars until light and fluffy. Add in vanilla, making sure to scrape down the bowl as needed. Beat in eggs, one at the time and make sure to combine well. Add flour mixture in two batches. Fold in walnuts and chocolate chips.

Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Cool completely in the pan and cut into bars.

Notes: This was a super thick batter. I wet my hands and squished it into the pan. The original recipe called for a bit smaller pan, so I worried about the time but it worked out just fine. The original recipe called for an 8 x 12 pan, who has one of those anyway? I mean 9 x 13″ is a standard.

All that said, these were amazing. I loved them and will probably doing them again soon. I don’t really make bar cookies, but cookie bites – like one bite-sized piece and when you make cookie bites in a 9 x 13″ pan, that makes a lot. I gave an entire gallon bag of them to the Boy. He’s a fan. That’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

