Pear and Cheddar Crisp

6 cups peeled and sliced Bosc pears- about 5 pears
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
3 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter a 2 quart casserole dish. Okay – how do you decide what is a 2 quart casserole dish — it is 8 cups, but … annoying. Just give me a measurement of the dish – I mean really – ugh.

Toss pears with lemon juice in a bowl. Combine 1/2 cup light brown sugar, cornstarch, and cinnamon together in a separate bowl. Add sugar mixture to pears; toss to coat. Transfer to the prepared casserole dish – totally sprayed this with cooking spray. Sprinkle pear mixture with Cheddar cheese.

Combine flour and 1/2 cup light brown sugar in a food processor; pulse to mix. Cut butter into flour mixture until crumb consistency. Sprinkle topping over Cheddar cheese layer.

Bake in the preheated oven until top is golden brown, about 45 minutes.

Source: Allrecipes.com

Interesting that the original recipe said this was an odd combination – Really? No. This was really good, granted, I made a couple modifications, but I think that is allowable based on taste. I have a couple of quibbles though.

D&D_1145This did not work in the cheese flavor department, which was really disappointing because I love pears (or apples) with cheddar. Will have to figure out how to do that better. And, this is no criticism, but I want a little more crunch in the “crisp” part and I think either walnuts, or maybe almonds should work for that.

A 2 quart dish is an 8 cup dish, and according to conversion charts can be a 9 inch round cake pan (thank you again William Sonoma). That is what I used and to be honest, I think something slightly smaller in size, to make it a bit thicker would have been good. Notes for next time. And there will be a next time. I have two Bosc pears and a Granny Smith apple and I think I will be doing this again.

Leave a Reply

