Lemon Crisps

I do love lemon – I know, I know,  everyone is astonished by this fact right, but there it is.  I honestly don’t think there are too many lemon recipes in the world. I will try to come up with a few if my own. A goal of this year. There we go, me and my lists again. Sigh.

D&D_1170

Lemon Crisp Cookies

You know I have learned a few things about cookie dough over the years and in one case most recently. One thing is particularly important. If the raw dough does not taste good, the cookies (or cakes or whatever) will not taste good either. My mom would have had a hissy fit over this. She was a firm believer in not eating raw eggs*, but I’ve always eaten raw cookie dough. Though she did not know it. I mean, come on, raw chocolate chip cookie dough is kind of way better, in my opinion, than actual baked chocolate chip cookies.

All this said, this dough tastes so good I am not sure I want to make the cookies. That is a huge complement. But I will make these cookies just to see how they turn out.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 1/2 Tbs lemon juice
1 1/2 Tbs lemon zest
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt over a piece of waxed paper.

Cream together butter and sugar, then add egg until combined. Add lemon juice, zest, and vanilla. Sift in dry ingredients.

Drop by 1 1/2 tsp size  (or roll into 1 1/2 sized balls – way easier to be more exact) onto parchment-lined baking sheet and bake 10 – 12 minutes until lightly golden around the edges. Let cool on sheet for a minute then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Lemon Icing
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
4 – 6 Tbs fresh lemon juice

Beat together and drizzle over cooled cookies.

Notes:  Snappy little lemon cookies  – what could be better? I honestly have no idea.  But I did top the lemon icing with lemon sugar from King Arthur Flour. Let’s just gild that lily then. These were also so easy to make. I also let them sit in the fridge for a couple of days – no problem. That is my favorite kind of cookie. Easy. Non-fussy.

*This is total bullshit, but at that time eggs – or at least in my mom’s mind,  uncooked eggs were evil. It did not take long to learn that was not real. I did mess with her a bit about that, because I was that daughter, Raw chocolate chip cookie dough – probably my favorite chocolate delivery system, um, ever.

Leave a Reply

