Thing of the Year 2015 – Get it Right spatula

I have suffered through many a bad spatula (haven’t we all?) in my time in the kitchen. But never again! At the end of 2014 the New York Times had a gift guide for Food. In which they had some strange things on their list  – Macaron purse?, Whisk necklace?, although a baking steel which I already have – is totally practical for pizza. So as I am checking out the list I found the holy-friggin’- grail of spatulas. No, I am not kidding. I may be the biggest Get it Right fan, um, ever. I purchased my first spatula in December of 2014 –  yellow – one of my favorite colors, and have added to the collection all of 2015. And as I add them, I get rid 0f all the inferior spatulas that I have – there were many. Sad, but true.

D&D_1118.jpg

Best Spatulas EVER – Get it Right

It is kind of amazing when you do not realize that you are dealing with an inferior product until you get one that is damn-near perfect. Yes, I spend $15 for a spatula, but the first one (yellow) convinced me, and these spatulas are awesome! And there is no shipping — if you spend more than $10.00 –  that’s a deal!

Let me expand on the concept. These are pharmaceutical grade silicone (“Because we love you.” love it!) unibody food-safe silicone, dishwasher-safe spatulas. They are BPA free (I’m pretty sure that’s a good thing – right?), and heat proof to 464 degrees (wish I knew how to make the cute little degree symbol). And to me, the “ultimate size” fits my kind-of small hands. They really just work for me on all sorts of levels.

So at first I just added to the “lemon” one with “lime” and “orange” and then it got colder and I went “black.” Then this winter wasn’t (to start with) too horrible, but rainy, so I added “grey” and a hopeful “teal blue.”  I really need a red one and I would love if there was a Navy blue one (anyone listening??). We will not talk about the “bacon” ones. Who was smoking something that night? Just asking.

I love that there is so much science in the way these are made and you can read more (and probably understand more than I do) at the Geek Out page. Pretty cool, even if I don’t quite get it. All I know is I love these spatulas – that seems like hyperbole, but I do not say this lightly. They are now a fixture in my kitchen. I hope to encourage others to give them a try. They are so totally worth it.

Get it Right – can I come and hang out with you guys? (I know no science, but do love excellent design). I have ideas. Or maybe we can have beer or two. Just a thought.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

