Lime Sugar Cookies

I make lemon things. But I thought there has to be some limes cookies out there somewhere, right?  This recipe is very old, it has been in my cookie binder for donkey’s years, but I had never made until now. I even screwed up the egg yolk part and just added two eggs, didn’t seem to be a problem. I kept them in the fridge for two days before baking and it was still no big deal. I am a huge fan of these cookies.

This recipe was cut from a magazine, maybe Southern Living, but based on the font (yes, I’m that nerd), I’m guessing it was a Better Homes and Gardens that I used to borrow from my lovely mother-in-law.

3/4 unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar, divided – 1 1/2 cups and 1/2 cup
zest of two limes
1/2 cup sour cream
2 large egg yolks, room temperature
1 Tbs fresh lime juice
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Beat together 1 1/2 cups sugar and lime zest, and butter on medium speed until lightly creamed. Add the sour cream and mixed until combined. Stir in egg yolks and lime juice.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt over a piece of waxed paper. Add to egg / butter mixture until blended. Chill dough 1 hour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Place 1/2 cup of sugar in a bowl. Shape dough into 1 inch balls, roll in sugar. Place on baking sheet. Bake 20 – 25 minutes until the edges begin to brown, bottom will be light golden. Remove to wire racks to cool.

D&D_1074

Lime Sugar Cookies

I think next time I will still roll them in sugar and bake them that way, but will make a glaze of lime juice and confectioners’ sugar, just to amp the lime up a bit more. Just a personal preference, but it gives you a little more lime of your cookie – never a bad thing in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

