My Sous Chef

Every cook needs a great sous chef. Someone who is there in the kitchen with you ALL the time and who helps and makes your kitchen time easier. I have two.

One sous is here on special occasions and is super helpful. I can say, “hey, can you watch that pan of apples on the stove for me?” and know I have nothing to worry about. No burning.  A timer goes off and I’m not around – he’s up to the task – no matter if it is baking or cooking. He can handle it. He’ll do little things for me – please empty the sink (i.e. – load the dishwasher), and nothing goes in an incorrect place.   Please dice these for me – handled. What wine should we drink – at this he is SO much better than me. Makes excellent mimosas! Yes, this is the Boy. He’s become quite the epicure. I’m very proud of all he has learned and continues to learn. I just wonder why he never showed much interest in the kitchen until he started working both front and back of the house in the restaurant business. Curious, non?

One sous is here every time I cook. He’s smart and focused and always up to the task. That said, he snorkels the floor looking for anything I have dropped. He gets in the way and is a general nuisance in his own very adorable way. He never begs, for which I’m eternally grateful, but he does give you the look that strongly suggests that you need to drop something good on the floor, and damn soon. That stare. This sous is half border collie and I’m afraid occasionally, I am the sheep.

D&D_0968

My Sous Chef with his Border Collie stare

Leave a Reply

