Another Brownie Cookie

Why am I doing this? I am not, again. a chocolate person. But since I made the first version and they were, on the whole, successful when I saw this, I figured what the hell. I mean, right? Let’s try to figure out a really good way to make the brownie taste in a cool cookie form. Cookies are so much easier to transport and deal with and to be honest, I may not be a huge brownie fan, but if I am going to have one – it MUST be an edge piece. And I make so much lemon stuff that my friends put up with, sometimes you do something that may not be your favorite, but that others will enjoy. I am pretty sure that being “that lemon person” does not win you any popularity contests in the baking world.

D&D_1099

Brownie Cookies

I also have to admit that this recipe kind of caught my eye for the name. Since we are very near to Christmas and I only watch two cartoons from my childhood any more – 1. How the Grinch Stole Christmas, 2. A Charlie Brown Christmas – great music in both in my opinion. But it is Lucy in ACBC that says,  “of all the Charlie Browns, you are the Charlie Brown-est.”

Yes, the cartoons also date me just a bit. That will be theme to this year. But it is better than the alternative.

The Browniest Cookies

1/2 cup (4 ounces or 115 grams) unsalted butter
4 ounces (115 grams) unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup (190 grams) dark or light brown sugar
2 tablespoons (25 grams) granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon fine sea or table salt
1/2 cup (45 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder, any kind will work
1 cup (130 grams) all-purpose flour
2/3 cup (225 grams) chocolate chips or bitter- or semisweet chocolate, chopped into chunks

Melt butter and unsweetened chocolate together — you can do this on the stove over very low heat, stirring constantly, in a double-boiler or in the microwave in 30-second bursts, stirring between each — and taking the chocolate out when it’s almost, but not fully, melted. Off the heat, stir until it is.

Whisk sugars into melted butter and chocolate, then eggs, one at a time, then vanilla. Whisk in baking soda and salt. If your cocoa powder is lumpy, sift it right onto the surface of the batter, other wise, just add it to the bowl. Add flour, too, and then stir until just combined. Add chips or chocolate chunks and stir until combined.

Place bowl in the fridge for about 30 minutes, and up to a few days. Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Longer than 30 minutes, they become difficult to scoop, but you can let them warm up slightly before you do. Here was the issue for me. Once they were in the fridge for a couple of days, they were a nightmare to scoop and to be honest, didn’t spread at all. So I baked for 11 minutes, turning half way through, and then kind of smashed them a bit to finish them of for another 2-3 minutes so they got a great soft interior with a bit of crunch on the outside. Me being an edge person, this worked really well for me. Minor quibble, but worth mentioning in my opinion.

Scoop into about 1 1/2- to 2-tablespoon sized mounds and space evenly on parchment lined baking sheets, allowing room for them to spread a little – a very little.  Bake for 11 to 12 minutes, and if you want a fudgy cookie be done with it, but if you are like me and like a bit of crunch, mash them just a bit (with wet hands – melting chips do burn) and give them another minute or two.  Let set on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to a rack to cool the rest of the way before eating. Dust them with confectioners’ sugar sifted through a sieve just for looks, but I liked it.

Do ahead: The cookie dough keeps in the fridge for up to a week and longer in the freezer. The original recipe says that if you want slice n bake cookies, after 20 to 30 minutes in the fridge, scrape dough onto a sheet of parchment or waxed paper and form into a 1 1/2- to 2-inch thick log. I may do that next time, but it worked fine just the way I did it this time.

I’m not sure which brownie cookie I like best. I’m waiting on the Boy’s vote. He is the lover of all thing brownie, but the MotH really like these, and that’s saying something.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Reply

