Glazed Lemon Cookies

D&D_1034

Glazed Lemon Cookies

Sometimes, for me, the rush of baking that happens between October and New Years (let’s just call it what it is), and I get a little burned out. I guess it is the other cooking that comes into play and you final decide, okay, I’m taking a break. These were my “taking a break” cookies this year. It was post Thanksgiving and I had been on a baking hiatus for several days, but decided to give these a go for just something lemon. I know, I know.

I really like these cookies. They are a modification of the first time I made them because I thought they needed more lemon – it’s never a bad thing in my opinion. Then I received a small bag of Meyer lemons from a friend of my mother-in-law which was really exciting and gave me new things to work with. I also have my biggest crop of Meyer lemons on my own potted tree on the back patio. It is a bit of a Charlie Brown Christmas tree looking tree, but I’ve never had three lemons make it through the year. I will take a picture and it will be a sad little tree, but there will be three nice looking Meyer lemons on it.

Meyer Lemons = More inspiration – I can use it after the holiday season (that stretches longer and longer each year). That said, here are some great lemon cookies you can make with whatever lemons you have.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs finely grated lemon zest
2 Tbs lemon juice
1/2 cup (8 Tbs) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp lemon extract

Lemon Glaze
2 Tbs finely grated lemon zest
1/3 cup lemon juice
2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift over waxed paper the flour, baking soda, and salt. In a stand mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, and lemon zest. Add egg, vanilla, lemon extract, and lemon juice and beat until combined. Beat in flour mixture on low.

Drop dough by tablespoons, 1 inch apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake until edges are golden, 15 – 20 minutes – rotate pan half way through. Let cool 2 minutes then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

In a medium bowl, sift in the confectioners’ sugar, and mix in the lemon zest, and lemon juice until smooth.

Spread completely cooled cookies with glaze and let set, about 1 hour.

21 March 2010 – vvg lots of lemon in both the cookie and glaze – not too sweet, added 1/2 tsp lemon extract

30 April – shared w/Kevin – fav student

17 Dec 2015 –  I pretty much think I have confectioners’ sugar all over me,  (that always seems to happen with confectioners’ sugar) but … It’s what I do.

Leave a Reply

