Spinach Dip

D&D_0993

Spinach Dip with Hawaiian Rolls

I have had this recipe, dare I say it, since the late 1980’s. And now I feel pretty much -ancient – yep. I am sure there are better variations, but this is the one the Boy likes, and to be honest, I really like it too. Although I don’t think the Boy understands that there are water chestnuts. He says he does not like them – funny – will not tell him for a few more years. This is a variation from my friend Marie in my first real job. We worked in a distribution company and it was a great job and I learned so much about working in the real world. My French Silk Pie recipe also comes from this time period. And a few other recipes that I will have to bring out of the 80’s just for fun. Or just to make me feel, um … old.

I am sure in the 80’s I did not use King’s Hawaiian rolls, but now they are a requirement. Thanks Boy – and that was an excellent move on your part.

8 ozs cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2 packages frozen chopped spinach, drained and all the liquid pressed out
1 package Knorr vegetable soup mix
1 can water chestnuts, minced
King’s Hawaiian Rolls

Mix together cream cheese and mayonnaise. Add vegetable soup mix, and mix to combine thoroughly. No, I mean it. This is important.
Add spinach and water chestnuts and mix. Refrigerate overnight.
Let sit at room temperature for about an hour or so. Serve with Hawaiian rolls. Sliced horizontally and then vertically, so you get 4 pieces of Hawaiian bread from each roll.  Not sure how this worked out, but it is a pretty good combination
I make this for the Boy. Every Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

