Corn Pudding – Thanksgiving review

D&D_0997

Corn Pudding with some cheese – yep

One of my goals this year for Thanksgiving was to add one new recipe, and I had been thinking about something with corn. We have great local corn here in the summer, but this is not the time of year for it now, so how to make something that bridges the gap between late summer and early fall – at least early fall for us – not quite cold-ish yet.

I have never made a corn dish for Thanksgiving, however,  it was on my list – yes, another list. I may not share the rest of my list since I pretty much fell down on most of the others – like “fall” salad. But I did score on apple dessert – thanks to the Boy. I really should have made a better attempt at down-sizing (also on the list) since it was just us – me, the Boy (thankfully), the MotH*, and his amazing Mom.

I really thought about making biscuits, also on this damnable list. I always make sweet potatoes biscuits, but I should have made buttermilk biscuits – not quite traditional, but it could become a tradition in our family. I think it may have to be next year – dang it (I just sound like a bit of a dork, saying dang it), Sigh.

Either way, this corn pudding was pretty good, And the recipe was a mix of a food network recipe and of my other Mom’s recipe. Yep – it is so nice to have another Mom, who happens to be my mother-in-law. She is the best. A girl can only be so lucky – and I am.

There are some vegetable that I love, and corn is probably at the top of my list. It was a favorite when I was a child. When I was in middle school and had a mouth full of braces, I would dutifully cut my corn off the cob during the summers – hated it because eating corn on the cob and have butter dripping down you hands is a summer tradition that is right up there with eating boiled peanuts.

One of my favorite things was to mix rice (yes, we were a rice family, not a potato family) with corn and lots of butter. Still one of my favorite things. Guess the things you love as a kid stay with you. Oh, I love white shoepeg corn – that’s what I used in this recipe – frozen white corn.  It is not too sweet but with rice and, now European salted butter – pretty much amazing. And great for breakfast.

Guess I need to get to the recipe for this bit of stuff now.

4 ozs cream cheese, softened – 1/2 bar
1/2 cup sour cream
small can of creamed corn
1 cup white corn (frozen, but thawed)
1 small onion, diced fine
1/3 cup whole milk
1 egg, beaten
3/4 cup grated cheddar, sharp, if you please

Spray 9 x 13″ baking dish with cooking spray. Beat cream cheese in a decent sized bowl until smooth. Add sour cream and mix to combined. Add corns, milk, egg, and cheddar. Mix well. Season with lots of freshly ground pepper and salt.

Spread in the baking dish. Bake at 350 for 45 – 50 minutes until lightly browned. Let stand for a few minutes before serving.

I liked this, but I like corn. It’s rich, but not too much so. May try a different version next time, but this was a damn good first attempt.

* Man of the House

Leave a Reply

