Recipe Keeping – sometimes this is a pain (PITA)

How do you keep recipes? Just wondering. No pictures today, but just wondering what other people think. If you would be so inclined to respond.

I tend to print recipes (and write all over them) and keep them in several binders, then I also have a drive with folders and some are on Evernote and some on my old blog. Some I just know by heart and need nothing to make them – there are many of those. I just spent two evenings last week sorting through recipes (new and old) and along the way, I edited – looked at each recipe and think “Will I ever really make this?” Lots ended up in the recycle bin which makes me feel bad and I need to edit earlier in the process – like before printing in particular. And killing more trees. Ugh.

I wish I could develop a system that truly works for me, but using cookbooks, family recipes that I know by heart, a few magazines, recipe “ideas” (with no step by step instructions), and things found on the recipe sites I trust, and of course, other blogs. How are you supposed to keep it all straight?

My first blog and this one were a way to keep up with things, but sometimes it gets a bit out of hand. I wander around with a stack of recipes I want to try – just printed, pulled from binders, etc. Trying to make them fit into the right time of year makes it even more difficult. Ugh. I’m supposing this is a complete first world problem, but I’d like to have a set of things to pass down to the Boy and his future wife (hope I like her) and their kids. Otherwise, why are we here? You get my genetics by default, but I’d love for you to know the recipes that come from different people in our family.

Such as my spinster (yep, they used the word) Aunt Rhodie’s chow chow recipe. She was really my great aunt, my grandmother’s sister and was partially deaf (seems mostly like when she wanted to be – that’s what my grandma always said) and never married but lived with my grandmother and grandfather, but she could totally rock the chow chow.  Now the recipe makes gallons so I’ll have to down size it to make it manageable, but is it worth the effort? I believe it is. Especially when you put it on some black-eyed peas – my favorite way to eat it. Otherwise black-eyed peas – kind of meh. Interesting the only reason I have the recipe is because my mom asked for it. This was my father’s aunt, but my mom appreciated it – probably because it could get me to eat black-eyed peas if for no other reason. I don’t remember my mom ever making it. Can’t blame her. Why do that when Aunt Rhodie would do it for us? Just get a few jars from the basement of the house – which also held the washing machine – clothes were dried on the line.

So to me, family recipes are important. I honor my mom by wanting to make things that she appreciated. I honor my great-aunt Rhodie by loving (and hopefully next summer), making her recipe. And I hope one day, I will teach the Boy how to make home made mac and cheese (he’s never had the boxed stuff – thank you very much), baked beans, sloppy joes, chili, squash pickles, and maybe even hot pepper jelly – and I could just go on and on … family recipes. I still have so much to do and I hope above hope to have plenty of time to do it.

Leave a Reply

