Toffee Bit Snickerdoodles

D&D_0949

Toffee Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles are a pretty perfect cookies. It is unreal that it took until I was grown up-ish to have them. Toffee is always a good thing. Adding them to a cookie I already like, is a great thing. I could go on about this, but let’s just cut to the chase.*

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup vegetable shortening (Crisco)
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/3 cup (8 ozs.) Heath bits
2 tsp ground cinnamon
3 Tbs sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Sift together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt over wax paper. It is just a thing I do with dry ingredients. I think sifting is important.
Beat butter, shortening and 1 cup sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer until fluffy.
Add eggs. one at a time; mix thoroughly.
Gradually add flour mixture to the butter mixture, beating until well blended. But don’t over do it.  Stir in toffee bits.
In a small bowl, mix 3 tablespoons sugar and the 2 tsp cinnamon together. Shape cookie dough into 1 1/4 inch balls – how do you measure that?, roll in sugar-cinnamon.
Set onto a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake 9 to 11 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges. Cool slightly then remove from cookie sheet.

Notes: Once again have no idea where this recipe came from (until I did a photo search), but am glad that my friend Zach said these are his favorite cookies I’ve made ever. Making notes – I’ll make this recipe for him for Christmas – just for him.

*So I had to look up “cut to the chase” – apparently it means a western movie thing – just cut to the chase because we don’t want to hear dialogue  – cut to the exciting part – the chase. I get it, but it is anti-climatic in a way. I thought it would be, well, more interesting.

I’m pretty sure this is from Cookie Madness, a favorite site of mine. It’s kind of funny, sometimes when I look for a source for a recipe (if I haven’t written it down), I do it by photos. My brain works much better in the visual world than in the world of words. Odd, since I enjoy writing as well, but for me, the visual brain is so much stronger.

Leave a Reply

