Pre – Thanksgiving – Cranberry Sauce

DD_0320_bThis is the week that I start to make all the things I can for Thanksgiving. I’m waiting for the fresh cranberries to go on sale – which is usually buy-one & get-one and I love to put the extras that I must buy in the freezer. This recipe really works well. I also buy new horseradish and also ground cloves.  It is just a thing I do. Just before every Thanksgiving.

Cranberry Horseradish Relish
2 pkgs (6 cups) fresh cranberries
2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups fresh orange juice
1/3 cup prepared horseradish
1/2 tsp ground cloves

Combine sugar and orange juice in sauce pan. Boil until sugar dissolves while stirring. Add cranberries and bring to a low boil. Simmer until cranberries begin to burst. Lower the temp and simmer a bit until the pectin starts to thicken everything. Let cool completely; mix in horseradish and cloves. Refrigerate. Pectin in the cranberries makes this work – I’d like to call this science and make my self sound smart, but it’s just pectin – and it is cool. And horseradish makes this recipe amazing.

Notes: I’ve been making this since the 90s and I love it more than words can say.  But maybe that is just me. Back in the 1990s when I first started making it, I made the recipe and split it with my best friend. It may be an acquired taste, but it would not be Thanksgiving without it. Although family and friends ask for it still, so maybe I’m not the only one that really enjoys it. It is excellent on leftover turkey sandwiches with bleu cheese dressing the next day. Although I love it with leftover dressing and giblet gravy. Yep. Could totally skip the turkey. Couldn’t we all?

One thought on “Pre – Thanksgiving – Cranberry Sauce

  1. Pingback: I have a bundt pan problem. There I said it. | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

