Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

D&D_IMG_0756-Edit

Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ugh – I’m in such a rut. A cookie baking rut. Guess for some people that is not a problem, but I’ve been going down this road for what seems like (is) weeks, so I have resorted to asking people for what I should make just to get me out of this rut. And what, exactly, did that get me? A request for more cookies – sigh. Well, at least it was a request for something that would not jump to the front of my mind. Chocolate Chip.

Now, as a request – someone, please ask for, I don’t know, … not cookies.

I am not a big fan of chocolate chip cookies. There, I said it. But if you add nuts,  I might be tempted. Still, just not a chocolate girl. I’m sure I am not in the general population in this particular area. I am in the minority. Given a choice, I will not choose chocolate. There it is. That said, I do like these cookies. It is probably because I put so many nuts in them – it is kind of like cheese: if a recipe calls for cheese, just add more; same thing with nuts. There is nothing fancy about these cookies, but that is fine with me. They are solid.  And I do plan on eating some of them for breakfast.

2 cups plus 2 Tbs all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
12 tbs unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
12 ozs semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
On a sheet of waxed paper or in a bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. Just use the waxed paper – easier in the grand scheme of things. And no clean up.
In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and add both sugars, mixing until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix until incorporated. Add vanilla. Add flour mixture and beat only until combined. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts.

Line baking sheet with parchment. Arrange a scoop of dough about two inches apart on sheet. Bake for 12 minutes, turning the pan half way through the baking time. Let cool on the baking sheet for a couple of minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Thanks Food & Wine

Leave a Reply

