Lime Meltaways

D&D_IMG_0758-Edit

Lime Meltaways

When I was a kid it was a huge thing for us me in the summer when my mom made limeade. I don’t do that enough and need to remedy that. Limeade went along, typically, with boiled peanuts and watermelons on a summer Saturday.

I love the nuanced flavor of a lime. I also think that the best way to eat an avocado is with lime and some sea salt – just heaven, but not on toast. Too trendy, and, to my mind, a bit insipid. Lime also features in my mushroom and watercress pate, because it is citrus but just a bit sweet too. Lime is a lovely complex flavor.

I am always making lemon cookies, I know, you are all astonished, right? but lime, not so much. I think it is because when you see something lime, it is typically pie. Which I have nothing against, but you don’t see much in the way of lime cookies. So I am making a concerted effort to change that – single handedly.

3/4 cup butter (12 Tbs) unsalted butter
1 cup confectioners’ sugar, divided
Finely grated zest of two limes
2 Tbs fresh lime juice
1 Tbs vanilla
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour plus 2 Tbs
2 Tbs cornstarch
1/4 tsp salt

Sift together flour, cornstarch, and salt over a piece of wax paper – I do love to do it this way. It’s simple and easy to clean up – Set aside.

Put butter and 1/3 cup of confectioners’ sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer with the whisk. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy. Add lime zest, lime juice, and vanilla and mix until combined.

And here is where things became interesting … Really should have used the paddle attachment. The whisk was a pain, esp. to get it cleaned out to get everything mixed together.

Then, because the whisking didn’t go well, it took some time to hand mix the dough to get it come together. We will no return to our show, already in progress….

Divide dough in half. Roll in parchment to form a log 1 1/4 inches in diameter. Refrigerate logs until cold and firm, at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Remove parchment from logs and slice into 1/4 inch thick coins. Space coins about an inch apart on parchment lined baking sheet. Bake until barely golden, 12 minutes or so, turning the pan halfway through. Cool on a wire rack 8 – 10 minutes. Place the other 2/3 cup of confectioners’ sugar in a zip top bag, and toss the still warm cookies to coat. Store airtight at room temperature for up to two weeks.

Source: Martha Stewart

These were really good, if you like citrus. Went over well with my friends. It’s shortbread after all.

Leave a Reply

