Hood has … FOMO

Hoodie Boy

My sweet idiot – my Hoddie Boy.

I have finally figured out what is up with Hood. He has FOMO – fear of missing out. This explains so many things. If he thinks you are doing something interesting, he’ll join you. If you decide to walk down the hall, he will go too. And lord help you if you go to the bathroom. He will sit right outside. He doesn’t want to miss anything. He is always in the way in the kitchen because he thinks he might get something. He is handsome though, which is why I fell in love with the idiot.

What I cannot understand is why he has no real nose, but maybe (likely) I am comparing him to the best GSD ever.  I guess that Border Collies (and he is WAY more Border Collie than Labrador) are sight dogs – it does make some sense.  Herding sheep and what not. But …

We just got Hood back from his first time at the kennel that our vet runs and he had had a bath and was so happy to see me Steve and so soft from his bath. I always wonder if the dogs think that we have abandoned them. But I do think they are like young children and their short term memories do not last that long, but that when they see you again  – they are happy. Hood certainly was and that makes me feel so good,  because I did not realize how much I missed him until he was so excited to get home.  I guess I am always pleased to get home after a trip – so I understand that he is too. Home is very important to me. Hood just set down in front of his television (read: our bay window) and let out a big sigh. Yes, my friend, I agree.

Yes, he may be an idiot, but he is my idiot. And I love him dearly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

