Sour Cream Lemon Pound Cake

D&D_IMG_0454-Edit

Sour Cream Lemon Pound Cake

The MotH is not a huge fan of sweets. When the Boy at least lived here it was easier. He would pretty much eat most sweets – but not fudge. I can understand that. One piece of chocolate fudge and I am done. Peanut Butter Fudge is another thing all together. But you can see that from my peanut butter fudge tests in this blog. But I digress.

Now that it is just me and the MotH, I have had to re-work things or find other outlets for my making of sweets. So I have friends at work that accuse me of trying to make them fat. I don’t think that is valid because I do not bring that much in – a few cookies — a bit of cake – I mean you can just say no.  So I just take it as a compliment. I hope it is meant that way. Not sure.

I made this because a friend wanted strawberry shortcake and he said it was a pound cake thing, I pretty much, um – hate  – do not like strawberries – ugh. And I always thought that strawberry shortcake involved a biscuit-ish thing, not a pound cake. Again my ignorance.

So while this is not strawberry shortcake, it is part of the way there.

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 1/4 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
3/4 cup sour cream
2 tsp vanilla

Heat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour 10″ bundt pan.
Cream butter and gradually add sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.
Combine flour and soda, add to butter mixture, alternating sour cream beginning and ending with flour. Mix until just blended. Stir in vanilla.
Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake 1 hour 5 minutes or until tester comes out clean. Cool in pan 15 minutes, remove from pan, and let cool completely.

Southern Living – at least I think it is – I am pretty comfortable with this.

Have used the copy of a page in Southern Living since at least the 1990s. Great pound cake.

So many times I cannot count and then when I started keeping track …
26 May 2008 – Memorial Day for my family
18 September 2014

19 September 2015

3 thoughts on “Sour Cream Lemon Pound Cake

    • I am so happy to find other people that are interested in baking (which is science to me) or cooking which means you can just wing it. Would be happy to follow you. And thanks for your comments. Sour Cream Pound Cake is amazing because this recipe is worth doing – because it is.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: I have a bundt pan problem. There I said it. | Deft and Daft

Leave a Reply

