Annual Pumpkin Party

While I hate all things pumpkins when they start in August. Yes, I’m looking at you William-Sonoma. I do have the pumpkin love for one thing. The past two years I’ve been able to go to Scott Novota’s Pumpkin Party since they have been right near my favorite restaurant in town – Jaco’s. I have four really cool pumpkins in my collection – all different and all interesting. I keep them out year around because they are so beautiful. Prior to the sale at Jaco’s, I always knew Scott was selling blown glass pumpkins, but always seemed to know about it after the fact, which was a bit annoying.

D&D_0427

Blood Orange Pumpkin – 2015

Well this past year his studio was destroyed and he and his wife started a kickstarter fund which I gladly joined in. Each year, I save my dead presidents to get a new pumpkin or two each year. So this was a real treat for me. My modest pledge got me a medium blood orange pumpkin – a color that will not be repeated again – and I was so excited to see what was available. I found, in my opinion, a really great pumpkin that looks nothing like the rest of my small collection.

And the best part! – The annual pumpkin party will take place at Scott’s new place!

Let me fill in some back story: Not long after we moved to Pensacola, the MotH* got me glass blowing classes for my birthday. I’ve been a potter since high school and love it, but was always fascinated with blowing glass. But I have to say – damnation, that is really hard work. I enjoyed it immensly, but lord love a duck, you need to have arms for this thing – and I do not. That said, I had a new appreciation for blown glass that I think loads of people do not have. I do understand how the temperature part of it works. Pottery follows similar guide lines. I did make some glass things that I am proud of, but wow – it was not easy.

So if you are in the area, it is the 2015 Annual Pumpkin Party at Strong Street Studio – October 3rd – 4th, 2015. 109 North A Street, Pensacola, FL.

*Thank you – my love – on your birthday.

 

Leave a Reply

