Cracked Top Sugar Cookies

D&D_IMG_0444-Edit

Cracked Top Sugar Cookie

I am devastated. I cannot find my Christmas sugar cookie recipe. I had a friend ask for sugar cookies and I cannot find my recipe.  I can find the recipe on the inter web, but not my printed copy with all the times I have made it which is way(!) more important to me. All those times I made it for the Boy. But that is just a problem of my random way of keeping up with recipes and pulling them out of binders because I want to make them and then they shuffle down the list and I get – what? – distracted again. The search will be extensive.  I’m sure that means it is in plain sight somewhere that I just have not thought to look. Ugh. When I do find it, I will be taking a picture so I cannot lose it again.

Consequently, I have tried this new sugar cookie recipe since I have had it sitting around for a while but have never given it a go. So earlier this week I did my usual thing and sifted all the dry ingredients and put them in a zip top bag. Then later, on a day of my choosing, I will ask MotH to take the special bowl out of the fridge in time for the butter to soften and the eggs to come to room temperature.

Yes, I have a bowl in the fridge with butter and eggs in it just for that purpose. You don’t?

Cracked Top Sugar Cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 oz unsalted butter ( 2 sticks)
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Turbinado sugar or additional granulated sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Stir flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt together on some waxed paper1 like I always do. When I prep the dry early, I put the sifted mix in a zip top bag until I’m ready to use. Cream the butter, sugar, brown sugar and vanilla together in a mixing bowl, and beat until combined. Add the egg and beat to incorporate, then add the flour mixture and stir by hand until it is mixed in.

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and coat tops with sugar – I used Turbinado – love that crunch. Arrange about 2 inches apart on a parchment lined cookie sheet and bake 12-13 minutes or until edges are nicely brown and tops appear crackly and set.

Makes 36 cookies

Since I seem to be in a HUGE cookie phase, it is not surprising that I’m leaning on one of my favorite cookie blogs – Cookie Madness. While cookies drive that engine, they are not the only thing that Anna does. It is a great site and I follow because you never know what will show up – and that is my favorite kind of blog – see what happens.

This made, for me, 37 cookies. Yep. I’m like that. But they were hugs hits at the office and with my friends. This will be in the rotation.

Leave a Reply

