Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies

D&D_0429

Oatmeal Cran White Chocolate Walnut Cookie

You know how some time you see a recipe and think, “I am just not sure how that is going to work?” I felt that way about this recipe. It is kind of like the way I felt about the lemon, white chocolate cookies that I now love – just thought it was odd at the time. Thank you Shirley Corriher – the coolest food scientist ever!  Is it the white chocolate that puts me off? No, I do not think so. I think it is the flavor combinations that I cannot imagine – obviously need a better imagination – sad. But sometimes you have to trust your gut – or in this case – trust a friend. My friend Dana.

2/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 ozs dried cranberries
2/3 cup white chocolate chips (a 4 oz bar chopped up)

changes
1 tsp vanilla, in after the eggs
bit of freshly grated nutmeg, in with the cinnamon
1 cup of chopped walnuts – or more (yes, more), in with the cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each. Shift flour, baking soda, and salt and then add the oats. (Usually do this over a bit of waxed paper and it works really well.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture in a few additions, mixing well after each. Stir in cranberries and white chocolate.

Drop by rounded teaspoons onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Bench Notes: I opted to chill the dough overnight before baking, but after not doing it, it doesn’t seem necessary.
Added 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, a bit of freshly grated nutmeg and a cup of chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts) which I think are necessary for an oatmeal cookie.

23 Nov 2013. Recipe from Dana, a great friend who made several of the modifications herself. But I will say, more nuts is always a better thing.

11 September 2015 – Baking on this day just seems to relax me. The Boy and I were all alone at a very new life when this happened. Nothing compared to what people who were impacted felt, but I sure felt alone in a strange world.

Leave a Reply

