Pecan Cookies

D&D_0415

Pecan Cookies

Have I mentioned that we have great local pecans from a place called Renfroe’s? I suppose people think all pecans come from Georgia, but that is no where near the truth. You can find great pecans in North Florida*, Alabama, and parts of Texas. My grandmother had pecan trees in Rockingham, North Carolina. They would fall, still green, on rainy nights on her metal roof and make an awful racket, but it was something I got used to over the summers and I would like to hear it again someday. Guess that means I need a metal roof.

Today, I noticed  a pecan tree growing too close to a old house with a metal roof. I hope the people that live there enjoy it when the wind and/or the rain brings them down on the metal roof.

Cookies:
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Filling / topping:
1 cup finely chopped Renfroe’s pecans
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a stand mixer, beat together butter and brown sugar, add vanilla and egg and mix to combine. In another bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add flour mixture to butter mixture until just combined. Refrigerate for an hour, at minimum, but up to two or thereabouts.

In a small-ish bowl, mix together pecans, brown sugar, heavy cream, and vanilla.

Roll the cookie dough into quarter sized balls and put on parchment-lined baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Indent them with your thumb or a small spoon, like a teaspoon. Place filling into well. Bake for 8 to 12 minutes, until the top is slightly golden and the edge is just slightly medium brown.

Notes: This is a recipe from Land O Lakes, but I used my own methodology because the original recipe just didn’t fall into my way of baking. I’m a person that creams butter and sugar and sift the flour and other dry ingredients. I can’t help myself. It’s just who I am.

These were a huge hit with my friends and my work friends too. They taste a bit like pecan pie filling on a slightly sweet cookie. And there is nothing wrong with that. One friend said she doesn’t like pecan pie, but she raved about these.

* When I lived in Jacksonville as an “adult” there was a pecan tree in the hell strip – between the road and sidewalk, but it really made some damn good pecans. There would be people that would walk by and pick up one or two, but I got a little territorial about it – they were really good pecans. I can spot a pecan tree from a long distance and I’d love to have a whole bunch of them  – but …

 

Leave a Reply

