Stone Fruit Cobbler

When I was a kid, we had a nectarine tree in our back yard. It was in a tight space between a wooden fence and the house so it was rather protected when the little bit of cold weather we had come each January. I remember eating them and loving them. Each summer there was enough fruit from the tree to make a cobbler, so I’ve always just made nectarine cobblers, like my mom did before me.

Peach Cobbler

It’s the right time of year for Peach Cobbler

This year I decided to see if I could tell the difference between a nectarine and a peach. To be honest, once you put it into a cobbler, I don’t think there is a way to tell the difference at that point. Given the option though, I think I will continue to pick nectarines in the future. Just to be different, if for no other reason. That is just me.

I have not been happy with my mom’s biscuits on the cobbler though. They seem too dense. Sorry mom. This is a recipe that I found that followed a different path that seemed good, but I did mix in a couple of my mom’s tricks to make this my own.

Peaches:
8 ripe peaches, peeled, cut into small chunks (catch any juice you can – you will thank me)
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg – just do the nutmeg – they last for pretty much ever
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
2 tsp cornstarch

Biscuits:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
6 Tbs unsalted butter, chilled and cut into tiny cubes
1/4 cup milk or cream

Topping:
3 Tbs sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, mix together peaches, and next six ingredients. Place in a 2 quart baking baking dish and bake in the oven for 10 minutes.

While you are waiting,  combine dry biscuit ingredients with a whisk. Blend in butter with your fingers or a pastry blender. Add in the milk/cream until combined, but do not over mix it. That makes it tough, not biscuit-y.

Remove baking dish from the oven, and drop the biscuits over the peaches. Then sprinkle with the sugar cinnamon mix. Bake until the top is golden and slightly crunch – sugar you know – about 30 minutes.

Notes: This is a mix of my mom’s recipe and something completely different.  I like it, but I am still going to work on it. That’s just me – I guess.   My friends really liked this one. Hope to make a couple more before the season is over. Still will go with nectarines  – it is just a thing.

14 August 2015 – perfect peach time – but will do this again before the “summer” is over – but with nectarines. Yep.

 

Leave a Reply

