Peanut Butter Fudge – AB

So I made my friend Amy’s peanut butter fudge that was her Grandmother’s recipe a couple of weeks ago. It was good, but I saw this recipe from Alton Brown which seemed easier and needed (gasp!) no candy thermometer and only used the microwave. Nice for the summer, if you ask me.

D&D_0408

Peanut Butter Fudge – Alton Brown

I had taken Amy’s first batch to split between work friends and other friends, but had had a request for it again which gave me the perfect opportunity to try AB’s version. I trust AB implicitly. I used his roasted turkey recipe for the first time I ever made the whole Thanksgiving dinner – that is how much I trust him.

Because it is still scorching hot here – it is only early September after all, basically, still friggin’ summer – I stored this in the fridge, but it can be left out at room temperature, I was being cautious.

Peanut Butter Fudge
Alton Brown

8 ounces unsalted butter, plus more for greasing pan
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pound powdered sugar

Combine the butter and peanut butter in a 4-quart microwave-safe bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Microwave for 2 minutes on high. Stir and microwave on high for 2 more minutes. (Use caution when removing this mixture from the microwave, it will be very hot.) Add the vanilla and powdered sugar to the peanut butter mixture and stir to combine with a wooden spoon. The mixture will become hard to stir and lose its sheen. Spread into a buttered 8 by 8-inch pan lined with parchment paper. Fold the excess parchment paper so it covers the surface of the fudge and refrigerate until cool, about 2 hours. Cut into 1-inch pieces and store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Notes: I really like the texture of this fudge. It was very creamy. It went over very well, especially with The Boy. That always makes me happy. It is funny neither he or I like “real” fudge, but we both like this. One warning: it is sweet enough to make your teeth hurt. Small price for great flavor and texture. Just make the pieces really small. That helps.

Leave a Reply

