Clafoutis

Clafoutis [kla-foo-TEE] *
Originally from the Limousin region, this country-French dessert is made by topping a layer of fresh fruit with batter. After baking it is served hot, sometimes with cream. Some clafoutis have a cake-like topping while others are more like a pudding. Though cherries are traditional, any fruit such as plums, peaches, or pears can be used.

This seems like a perfect summer dessert. Fresh fruit, simple batter and bake it up – yep – a weeknight dessert for sure. So I tried it on a Wednesday night and it makes total sense, except for one thing. I have never had a clafoutis before, so I was not quite sure what to expect. So then I had to look at pictures online to see if I was anywhere close to what it was supposed to be. And … ugh … had to look a definition to see what I should be tasting. I think I did this whole thing backwards. Not surprising, really. Do love to say the word though – clafoutis – so French. Sigh.

This will not stop me. One meh clafoutis, oh hell no! I will get this sorted and I think apples or pears for the fall would be lovely. I am kind of feeling bad for not showing my photograph of it, but it is just not right and that is totally my fault. As a history student, I should have know better than to not do my research.

Basic Clafoutis

1 cup whole milk
3 eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup all purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. In a bowl. Whisk together milk, eggs, sugar, and vanilla until sugar dissolves. Sift in flour and whisk until smooth. Pour batter into a cast iron pan or pie pan.

Add your favor fruit and/or flavoring (recommended on the Epicurious site). Bake until clafoutis is puffed and golden, 35 – 40 minutes. Serve immediately.

Notes: Since I used unsalted butter, I should have added a pinch of salt.

Also, needed more than one peach, which was what was suggested for the pear. The peaches really are lovely this time of year.

I did not sift my flour – huge mistake. So I had to run the batter through a fine mesh sieve and that helped. I always sift my flour when baking, can not believe I did not do it this time. Really? groan – I’m really better at this than that.

This thing deflates faster than a New England Patriot football –  well, there it is. I said it and it is true. Never been a patsy fan. So if you want a picture of it being fluffy – best be prepared to snap away as soon as it comes out of the oven.

19 August 2015

*Food Lover’s Companion, p. 143
Basic Clafoutis epicurious. Nov 2013 John Besh, Cooking from the Heart

Leave a Reply

