Gruyere Walnut Crackers

D&D_0392

Gruyere Walnut Crackers

I think I may be the only person that makes their own crackers. I’ve been doing this for years and have learned so much from the process. This recipe – if you can call it that – is based on my favorite cheddar cracker recipe and on the cheese cracker challenge of 2012, which was, I have to say, epic.   Again, excellent use of commas. Can not help my self.

So here we go …

6 ozs all-purpose flour – yes, weigh it.
3 ozs Gruyere, grated – do I need to say it again?
1/2 tsp table salt
1/4 tsp cayenne
4 ozs unsalted butter, chilled, cut into small pieces
1 large egg yolk
2 Tbs water
2 ozs walnuts, finely chopped

In the bowl of the food processor, chop the walnuts. Remove them and add the flour, Gruyere, salt, and cayenne. Pulse to incorporate. Add butter and pulse until dough is pea sized pieces. Add nuts and pulse until the dough comes together.
Pile crumbs on an unfloured surface and knead a few times to pull the dough together. Roll the dough into two logs about 1 inch in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 4 hours or up to three days.

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment. Slice the logs into about 1/4 inch slices. The most important thing is the slices are similar in size. Space the about an inch apart. Bake 12 – 15 minutes, rotating baking sheet half way through. Place on a rack to cool, and the store in an airtight chamber.

I’ve modified one of my favorite cheddar cracker recipe to use a very nice piece of Gruyere I had. I’ve made some modifications to the methodology and to some of the flavorings.

Cheddar Versions:

13 December 2008

1 July 2012

28 December 2013

1 November 2014

Gruyere Version:

24 August 2015

Leave a Reply

