Bacon Cheese Chive Muffins

You know when you see a picture of something that looks good and then read the recipe and go, well, crap. I had not really D&D_0380thought about making something like this until I received an email from all recipes.com that had, what I would consider was a bit of inspiration.
I had all the major parts of the recipe at home and for once, wasn’t totally freaked out by a “cream of – insert crap word here” soup. I just didn’t use it. Ugh, so gross. Sorry. I have seen some recipes on pinterest that do the “no creamed soup” recipes, and I applaud them. Quite vigorously. It just seems wrong to add something so processed to something that you are, pretty much, making from scratch. Especially when you really do not have to do it. I used sour cream as a substitute, and it worked really well. So I started thinking of things that made some sense and I hit on this. Makes 12 muffins.

So here is what I came up with a nod to the original.*

8 slices of thick cut bacon

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp table salt

1 1/2 tsp garlic powder (Thank you Penzys!)

4 tsp fresh chives, snipped with kitchen shears

1/3 cup Parmesan, finely grated

1/2 cup Gruyere, grated

1/2 cup sharp Cheddar, grated

1 egg, slightly beaten

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup canola oil

Place bacon in a large sauté pan. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Easiest way. Start with a cold pan and add just enough water to cover the bottom. This keeps the spattering down. By the time the water is gone, the bacon has rendered. {Remember to save those bacon drippings} Drain on paper towels on a plate, and crumble, and set aside. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F and line muffin pan with liners and spray with non-stick spray. 

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, garlic powder, chives, Parmesan cheese, and, Cheddar cheese 

In a large measuring cup, combine egg, milk, sour cream. and vegetable oil. Stir this mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Add the bacon. Spoon batter into the prepared muffin pans.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean.

D&D_0405

22 August 2015

Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins.

These were really great. I liked them spilt and toasted for breakfast with some salted butter on them. I mean, bacon, cheese, and, um whatever else. I am ever grateful to my friends at the office for trying them and for, what I hope, are real opinions.
Would like to try again, with some variations. Sausage, I think will be involved. And cheddar.

2 thoughts on “Bacon Cheese Chive Muffins

Leave a Reply

