Best (?) Blueberry Cookies

I’m not really sure where to start with this. I have actually (some how hate that word) started this post three times already, but have deleted it each time. So here goes … I so very much wanted this to work because the blueberries this year have been amazing and it will not be too much longer and then they will be done. They may be already. That is sad because then the wait begins again.
So here’s the deal: this recipe, for me, did not work at all. Though the dough did taste great – who does not eat raw cookie dough?? Um, yeah.

I went back, thank goodness I keep up (mostly) where a recipe or inspiration comes from, and looked at the comments for this recipe and scrolled through them. At first I was just depressed because everyone was raving. Then I double checked to make sure I used all the correct ingredients – check. I had chilled dough – check. Then I scrolled further down the comments, and there, exactly, was the problem I was having. Thank goodness, I was not crazy, at least, not on this occasion.
From what I’ve read, it is the baking soda that was the issue or lack of baking powder. Either way! I’m going to get into that science this winter and plan to try again next year because I so want this to work. But please, do not try this until I get a better handle on it.

This is the original recipe. I so hoped it would work. But for me, it did not.

Makes about 30 cookies Note: I’ve had people ask me if you really have to chill cookie dough before baking. [Hello, duh] The answer is that you can get away with skipping it in some recipes, but with these cookies, it is absolutely necessary. The dough will be too soft to bake before a good two hours in the fridge, so plan accordingly. Carrie Vasios

2 cups (10 ounces) all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

16 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 cup blueberries

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together brown sugar, sugar, and melted butter until smooth. Whisk in vanilla extract and eggs until combined. Add flour mixture and whisk until just incorporated. Use a rubber spatula to gently mix in blueberries. Cover dough with plastic wrap and let chill for at least two hours and up to overnight.

Adjust oven racks to middle and upper positions and preheat oven to 375°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Drop dough by the rounded tablespoon onto baking sheet. Bake until golden, 13-15 minutes. Let cool 3 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

So do you post a recipe that does not work for you? Is it just a warning? I’m still not sure what to do with this. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

