Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip Cookies

The Boy gave me a Ghirardelli Chocolate Cookbook for my birthday this year, along with a bunch of Ghirardelli squares, which I take in small doses since I am not a huge chocolate person. That said, the recipes are really good and Ghirardelli is my go-to chocolate for cookies and anything else chocolate. The Boy marked a bunch of recipes in the book that he wants. I think this one is interesting since the chips can be a wide variety of chocolate: milk chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, or bittersweet chocolate.
D&D_0278

Ghirardelli Chocolate Cookbook

I have never really like milk chocolate in cookies – kind of meh. It just does not work for me.  I am a semi-sweet or bittersweet kind of chocolate girl. If I am a chocolate girl at all. Can you call yourself a girl when you are in your 40s? I can, because I still feel pretty much 26.

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup sugar

1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed

2 tsp vanilla

2 large eggs

2 cups Ghirardelli Chocolate Chips*

1 cup chopped pecans
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Stir together flour, baking soda, and salt.
In a large bowl, beat butter with both sugars at medium speed until creamy and lightened in color, about 4 minutes. Add the vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing on low until incorporated.
Gradually blend the flour mixture into butter mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips and nuts. Drop by tablespoonful onto parchment lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart.
Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, until the cookies are golden brown. Transfer the cookies to wire rack to cool.
Store in airtight container at room temperature for up to one week.
* milk chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate or bittersweet chocolate – your choice.
These got a little thin, but that works if you like that kind of cookie. I think it was all the butter – seems a bit much. They were a hit with the Boy, and at the office, so that makes me feel better about them. I just think this is not my kind of chocolate chip cookies. Very glad the Boy really enjoyed it. Love this cookbook – even if I do not love chocolate. I will make anything he likes. Guess that is being a mom.

Leave a Reply

